What was that moment…

Standard

….that pivotal moment or concert that changed everything? When you fell in love with music? Some friends of mine and I were talking about that last night, and I was just drawing a blank. I mean, obviously, something happened to me and I was influenced by a lot of things in the late 60’s when I was a little kid in New Jersey and then being a teenager in Detroit in the 70’s. But it seems like people I know can speak to a show or record that informed them from that moment on. And I couldn’t think of anything.

Well, I just remembered it. Quite possibly I had trouble recalling it because I was 9 years old. I was laying in the back of my dad’s Ford Country Squire station wagon (with faux wood on the sides, of course.) I had this habit of putting my ear right on the speaker after begging my dad to tune in to WABC New York. River Deep Mountain High came on, and it blew my mind. Nothing was the same after that. Mind you, I had been listening to the Beatles, Rolling Stones and Monkees and I was wild about all that, but RDMH had something in it that sent a shiver down my spine, and I knew I’d be in love with music for the rest of my life.

3 responses »

  1. I don’t know what my moment would be! I can remember some moments: I fell back in love with Bach hearing Pekka Kuusisto playing at the Adelaide Town Hall; that was a big moment for me (as was accidentally ending up sitting next to a Finnish speaker at a tiny jazz club in Melbourne a few years later, and – gasp! swoon! – getting to speak with the great man himself). Hearing The The’s album “Mindbomb” was a pivotal experience. Hearing “Things of Stone and Wood” live; likewise “Icehouse”, “Midnight Oil”, “Hoodoo Gurus” – all Aussie icons of the 90s. Watching “Mississippi Burning” and listening to that soundtrack. Hearing “Yothu Yindi” in the late 80s, with the didgeridoo in a rock song – that was very cool.

    I think, in recent years, the two Pekka moments would have to be standouts.

Leave a Reply

